top of page
  • Writer's pictureAccokeek Foundation

Leadership Salute

The Accokeek Foundation’s annual Leadership Salute celebrates those who have shown strong support for the Foundation; recognizes leadership on key principles that advance our mission; acknowledges dedicated public service; and raises support for the Accokeek Foundation’s programming for children and families.

Join us for this special event as we honor Dr. Wilton Corkern, President of the Accokeek Foundation

Sunday, October 9, 20113:00 pm to 5:00 pmAccokeek Foundation, Education Center3400 Bryan Point Road, Accokeek, Maryland 20607Hors d’oeuvres and wine, catered by Susan Gage Catering

The Accokeek Foundation established the Leadership Salute and the National Conservation Leadership Award in 2001 to recognize contributions in the conservation of natural, cultural, and historic resources, and support for education and research in those areas. Dr. Corkern will be given the National Conservation Leadership Award in recognition of more than two decades of service to advance stewardship and conservation, especially land preservation and sustainable agriculture. At the end of September, Dr. Corkern will retire as the President of the Accokeek Foundation. Please join us as we honor his service and celebrate his retirement.

Former recipients of the National Conservation Leadership Award include Robert G. Stanton, former Director of the National Park Service; John M. Derrick, former chairman and CEO of Pepco Holdings; Steny H. Hoyer, Democratic Whip, U.S. House of Representatives; Gilbert Gude, former Member of Congress; the Mount Vernon Ladies Association of the Union; Willem Polak, President of the Potomac Riverboat Company; Glenn Eugster, retired Assistant Regional Director for Partnerships, National Park Service National Capital Region; and Thomas V. “Mike” Miller, President of the Senate of Maryland. Peter Gilsey, Chair and CEO of Ariba Asset Management, Inc., was selected as the 2010 recipient and was honored posthumously in December 2010.

Sponsors of the 2011 Leadership SaluteBenefactor: $5,000 William Page Bryan / B.K. Miller Company Marietta Ethier and John McGarry Susan Gage Caterers Eugene and Lynn Roberts Fred and Kathy Rotondaro and the Rotondaro Family Sponsor: $1,000 Alexander and Cleaver, P.A. Chesapeake Bay Funders Network The Mount Vernon Ladies’ Association Prince Charitable Trusts SMECO Joseph F. Vallario, Jr. Patricia E. Williams, Cultural Resources Management Group, LLC Friend: $250 William C. Baker Lisa Hayes and Theodore Manekin Alice M. and Ross M. Merrill B.K. Miller Meats & Liquors, Inc. Thrift and Ford Families Folger Nolan Fleming Douglas Capital Management, Inc. Ms. Dorothy Leonnig Mr. Russell R. Reno, Jr.

Tickets are $75 per person*

Become a Sponsor of the Leadership Salute 2011 Gala “Leadership Salute contributions help to ensure high-quality, affordable education opportunities for families in our community.”

*The non tax-deductible portion for each attendee is $50. The Accokeek Foundation is a 501(c)(3) organization. Donations are tax deductible to the fullest extent allowed by law. Documents submitted to the State of Maryland under the Maryland Charitable Solicitations Act are available from the Secretary of State, State House, Annapolis, MD 21401 for the cost of copying and mailing.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page